Many people are confused about where they should receive their sacraments.

Some churches advertise and invite the public to receive their first communion or other sacraments in their churches, specifically: the Old Catholic Church or some Episcopal churches.

Many of our parishioners receive invitations in the mail and are confused because the word "Catholic" appears in the invitation.

There are many churches who share a Catholic tradition but are not Roman Catholic. That means, although we believe many things in common, we are not the same church; therefore, even though you may receive the sacraments more quickly and there may be a smaller donation to register for the classes, ultimately you will not have received sacraments that will be recognized by the Roman Catholic Church.

This will become a big problem, especially when you come to the Roman Catholic Church for marriage.

If you have any questions regarding please contact the rectory and speak to a priest. He will be happy to help you in this matter.

If you have already received a sacrament in a church that is not Roman Catholic, call us to see what you can do to correct this.

Anointing of the sick (last rites or extreme unction)

This sacrament is a powerfully healing sacrament meant to be given to the sick during their illness. Read more.


The origin and foundation of Christian baptism is Jesus. Before starting his public ministry, Jesus submitted himself to the baptism given by John the Baptist.
Read more.

Reconciliation (penance or confession)

Penance is a sacrament in which forgiveness of sins committed after baptism is granted through the priest's absolution to those who, with true sorrow, confess their sins and promise to satisfy for the same. Read more.


Confirmation, together with the Sacraments of Baptism and Eucharist, form the Sacraments of Initiation that are all intimately connected. In the Sacrament of Confirmation, the baptized person is "sealed with the gift of the Holy Spirit" and is strengthened for service to the Body of Christ. Read more.

Eucharist (first communion)

The Eucharist is the sacrament in which we receive the Body and Blood of Christ. The Church teaches that Christ is really present in the bread and wine that have been consecrated by the priest at Mass. Read more.

Holy Orders (diaconate and priesthood)

“There is no more important work in the Church today than calling and forming men for the priesthood." Read more.


The commitment which you will make to each other, is a public act shared by family, friends and the entire Catholic community. Read more.